Have you ever been table pounding furious?

I was. Today.

It started with a requirement to be at our business for a ‘dye test’. The buyers wanted to be sure our business wasn’t allowing water from the drains into any other passage. I had to make time for this at short notice on a day I’m getting the house ready, shopping for food for 20 people for mom’s 92nd birthday party Sunday. Busy week.

I was there on time. The plumber arrived and waved. I greeted him and told him I had the forms he would be filling out. The township man arrived 10 minutes late, drove up with an arrogant look. Told him I had the forms. He said they weren’t for him and walked away.

I sat in my car and waited since I had unlocked the door to provide access. In a few minutes the township man was in his car and on his cell phone. He waited in his car for the next 10 minutes and in drove another township car. (Actually the township cars are huge Suburbans or cars like it.) Township man #2 got out of his car and came to the car of township man #2, who then got out of his car and as they both walked around our building, township man #1 was shaking his head. (I knew something bad was about to happen. And it was going to cost us a lot.)

In a matter of minutes, township man #1 came to my car and told me our business didn’t pass the ‘dye test’, not because there were any plumbing problems. The overhang of the building didn’t extend enough and rain water was going into the sanitary sewage system. We would have to go to the code man (township man #3) to ask what would be required to meet code.

Got the bill from the plumber for the ‘dye test’ and paid it. $300. To tell us we needed to spend a lot of $ just to sell the business. This is all based on requirements from the federal government on sewage handling.

I was table pounding furious.

I still am. Having trouble calming down. I’m just so angry. I have no answers for dealing with this anger. I know I blame bureaucracy for all of the rings we must always jump through and the expense of falling in line under federal, state and local regulations. The expense is more than just money. The expense is the actual time left in my life, and the horrible aggravation causing dis-ease to my physical body. But perhaps that’s their goal. The less people who live to 70, the cheaper it will be to deal with us.

I need to get to Sam’s to buy all the food for Sunday. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll have a better blog.

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

