Gluttony

 

Today I must begin to deal with one of my real weaknesses.

gluttony

The dictionary simply defines gluttony as overeating or over drinking.

I define it as compulsion to eat. I don’t have trouble as a rule because I just don’t keep any food around that I love that much. After all, we aren’t supposed to live to eat. We are to eat to live.

However, we just had a big celebration. And what I didn’t supply in food and drink, others brought for me as ‘hostess gifts’. Bless them.

Does the Bible have anything to say about gluttony? Yes! “and put a knife to your throat if you are given to gluttony.”
(Proverbs 23:2 NIV)

“If you find honey, eat just enough— too much of it, and you will vomit.”
(Proverbs 25:16 NIV)

Any of our various appetites are there for a reason. But when we pursue those appetites for our pleasure, we become obsessed and then compelled to fulfill that appetite more and more. It’s a merry-go-round of appetite>indulge>pleasure>more pleasure>appetite>indulge>pleasure…

This particular weakness of mine, gluttony, is for a single food. Chocolate. It’s so bad, I must ask my husband to avoid buying me chocolate for gifts. If it’s in the house, it’s gone very quickly.

The best way to overcome this is, of course, in prayer and scripture. I’ll do both today. Although the chocolate that was given to me on Sunday is gone, it’s a problem I know the Lord will give me the strength to overcome.

Oh! By the way! Happy Valentine’s Day!♡

 

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluttony

  1. Pingback: L.E.G.A.C.Y.

Leave a Reply

