It’s Saturday, June 2. At 7:30 PM I will have been married for 45 years

The Bible has over 500 entries about marriage, husbands, wives. Important subject.

According to statistics, a marriage today has over 40% chance of ending in divorce. But in my experience, in the church I grew up in and the church I attend now, I know of none who have divorced. Couples in these 2 churches have stayed together. True, I have only attended church as an older adult for the last 17 years. And as a child, through my 20’s when I left my God and my church for about 30 years, I might have missed a couple or 2 who might have divorced. However, I would probably have heard my parents discussing such a thing. (I always listened when they talked in hushed tones).

So, it seems to me that active Christianity leads to a healthy marriage. At least it seems to lead to less divorce.

“The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.””
(Genesis 2:18 NIV)

“So the LORD God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and closed up the place with flesh. Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.
The man said,
“This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.” For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.”
(Genesis 2:21–24 NIV)

This was the first wedding! Can you imagine? When Adam first saw Eve? Bet he just had the biggest crush on her. And can you imagine the joy? The fulfillment? I believe God created man and then woman for each other, for companionship, for help in their lives, for intimacy. In the beginning God created a man and a woman.

Are we to change this paradigm?

Should we bring two men to the marriage feast? Two women? What would be the point?

“As for you, be fruitful and increase in number; multiply on the earth and increase upon it.””
(Genesis 9:7 NIV)

How does such a union obey God’s commands?

Frankly, it doesn’t.

Changing the model created by God is just further perversion of the goodness in creation. Perversion of goodness is evil. As a believer in Jesus, I must remain obedient to his statutes.

Perversion has caused our culture, our world, to run amuck. Sad.

 

Addendum:

June 3, 2012

I received a very sweet card from my big guy yesterday evening. It said:  “You’re all that I want, and more than I deserve. I love you.”

I think men become smarter as they age.

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s Saturday, June 2. At 7:30 PM I will have been married for 45 years

  1. “Perversion of goodness is evil”. Perhaps. But it is not good for the gay man to be alone either. What would be the point of bringing two women together? So that they could love each other, just as infertile people can love each other. The Love is real. The Love is of God. Perfect love driveth out all fear: when you really come to see gay people, you will come to respect our love.

    Like

  2. tannngl says:

    Hi Clare. Thanks so much for your well wishes and congratulations! ♡

    We see homosexuality very differently. My Bible states many times that it is an abomination, a detestable practice, wicked, unnatural, indecent, perverted. It also states that such practices will result in punishment, eternal fire. (Leviticus 18:22, Leviticus 18:24, Genesis 19:5, Leviticus 20:13, Judges 19:22, 1 Kings 14:24, Romans 1:26-27, 1 Corinthians 6:9, Jude 1:7)

    Jesus, himself said: ““Haven’t you read,” he replied, “that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’?So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.””
    (Matthew 19:4–6 NIV)
    He defined marriage.

    I don’t hate homosexuals. But I do believe the act of homosexuality is what the Bible states. And in the end it leads to eternal punishment. That is more than sad. It’s horrible.

    Like

    • Mmm. Leviticus 20. Do you think that gay men should be put to death? At the time of writing, as I understand, there was no belief in Hell. If not, why do you accept half the verse, and reject the other half?

      Like

      • tannngl says:

        Clare,
        You and I could spend years debating the Bible picking apart one verse at a time. But one verse doesn’t provide the message of a 66 book work.

        But what it all comes down to, is this: Do you have faith in God? Is he real and personal to you?

        God sent his Son to die. And it was for all of us, for our lost and evil selves. Mine and yours. The disobedient child, the adulterer, the sexual deviant no longer must be put to physical death. And God loves us and wants us to turn and follow him. Isaiah has the pervasive message from the Father.

        “This is the one I esteem:
        he who is humble and contrite in spirit,
        and trembles at my word.

        If you just want to debate if the Bible states homosexual behavior is sin and one who continues such behavior is destined for eternal judgment, you and I will simply disagree and we can leave it at that.

        You seem to have some knowledge of the Bible. But I don’t think you’ve gotten it all put together.

        If you’re interested in such a discussion, I’d love to.

        PS
        Eternal punishment is discussed in the Old Testament.

        Like

  3. I am a Quaker. We believe in that of God in every one. We are probably better not debating those verses. I wish homosexuality had not become such a sibboleth within the faith. We preach the Love of Christ, but when we get steamed up about homosexuality we make a barrier to others to find it. We get steamed up: like boilers about to explode; like a window which you can no longer see through. One can respect the Bible and have honest doubts about homosexuality. Look at the Lutherans.

    Like

  4. tannngl says:

    Clare, what doubts about homosexual behavior? And what about Lutherans specifically? There are liberal and conservative Lutheran Synods.
    I think there are differing sects of Quakers. Which are you? I don’t think I understand very much about Quaker theology.

    Like

    • I am a Quaker in the UK, where we are all one. In the US, Friends United Meeting differs from Friends General Conference: British friends are closer to FGC. Here is a Lutheran site: http://www.lcna.org/ and here is the UK Quaker position: http://www.quaker.org.uk/equal-marrriage-sub

      How I wish you had not mentioned gay people in your post! Then I could have congratulated you on your 45 years and shared your joy.

      And yes, eternal punishment is mentioned in the OT, but not I think in the Books of Moses, which were written earlier than, say, the Book of Daniel and indeed the psalms.

      Like

  5. tannngl says:

    I’ve read the sites you linked. Thank you.

    Clare, you already congratulated me on our 45th anniversary and wished us well and I thanked you.

    My posts are a bit rambling. I begin with a real event or a thought and I write as thoughts come to my mind. It’s always a Spirit led submission. When I look back at what I write, I’m amazed at where my thoughts have taken me. I think if my post hadn’t gone to the human attempt to change the Biblical definition of marriage, I don’t think you would have made a reply in my blog. But I’m glad you did, Clare. It was nice getting to know you and I have enjoyed our conversation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

