What is the difference between my conservatism and progressivism?

I wanted to sort out in my mind just what a conservative is.  The dictionary said we are people who believe in traditional things and limit change. Wiki gave the history of conservatism in several countries, and several varieties of conservatism. It made me sound like a throw back to a different era refusing to accept change.

As a conservative, these are principles that are my foundation in life:

(Let me add to these below, that I do change my hairstyle and clothing and home decor to stay in style to some extent. I am more up to date in electronics and social media than my daughter. So I’m not a total throwback.)

1.  I believe in God and further, I worship him and read his Bible.

2. There are moral standards that rule my life. They are all in the Bible.

3.  I believe God gives freedom to each individual on earth. That freedom gives me the right to say what I wish, and to worship the God I know without restriction. That freedom also demands that I work toward success if I wish, and work to support myself, to care for my family and others who are in need and I must live according to the commands given in the Bible. It’s a freedom with responsibilities.

4. I believe government should remain small and powerless except for the powers enumerated in the Constitution of the US and the constitution of my state.

5.  I have the right and responsibility to raise my children, assure them of the education I believe they require, clothe them, feed them and provide shelter and discipline.  And I have the responsibility to protect my family and myself by whatever means, weapons included.

Our rights do come from God. And God-given rights are the basis of our Declaration of Independence, the US Constitution, and our Bill of Rights. There is no question on this. It’s all there in the Federalist Papers, in our history, and the words of these documents.  The signers of the foundation documents believed in the God of the Bible. All of them.

Now, what is a liberal? And why do they have such animosity toward me?

The dictionary definition of liberal:

favorable to progress or reform, as in political or religious affairs. noting or pertaining to a political party advocating measures of progressive political reform. favorable to or in accord with concepts of maximum individual freedom possible, especially as guaranteed by law and secured by governmental protection of civil liberties. favoring or permitting freedom of action, especially with respect to matters of personal belief or expression.

Liberalism according to Wiki is:

a political ideology that advocates regulated markets, unlimited government, rule of law, due process, and redistribution of wealth of more successful individuals.

and progressivism: a general political philosophy advocating or favoring social, political, and economic reform.

Liberals can believe in a god but if they do, they seem to see him as not the God of the Bible, but, perhaps a god with little to do with humanity, certainly a god that has no laws to worry about. They do not believe the commands in the Bible.

While some of this seems correct there is more to most liberal beliefs. Liberals don’t seem to draw any line as to morality. That line just keeps moving.

While I believe in individual responsibility and freedom, liberals seem to think the freedoms and responsibility fall on and from the government. The government is responsible for the food, shelter, health care, really, just about every part of life. Freedom is important to them, freedom of speech, freedom from religion, freedom to assembly and riot, freedom to abort (murder) their babies, freedom to engage in sex with abandon, for the most part. But I notice that when I exercise my freedom of speech there is a tendency to be snide, condescending and sometimes just rude and violent. It is a way to shut me up.

They believe the bigger government, the better, to take care of them. They believe               that most parts of their lives should be regulated so mother earth (which we are guilty of abusing according to liberal thought) will live on undamaged. They believe no one should have guns because guns kill people. What good would there be for anyone to have had a gun in the theatre in Colorado that day? They see no way that could have helped the situation as I’ve been told.

They also believe the original documents for our country are ‘living, breathing’ documents and need to change with the times as they do.

And don’t forget about ‘fairness’. There  must be ‘fairness’ in the labor force, in every part of life, actually. And of course safety. The government must keep us safe from everything that might be dangerous.

Well, I think that about says it.

If you have anything to add, or subtract, bring it on and I’ll consider it.

If we don’t know what we stand for politically, socially, spiritually, then there’s no way we can discuss it with anyone else.

So, this is a starting point for me. I’ll relish any comments on this post.

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What is the difference between my conservatism and progressivism?

  1. Pingback: Ideological Wars That Never Were « A Voice From the Foothills

  2. Good stuff, tannngl! It’s amazing how many folks throw the terms around and (1) don’t understand the incredible irony of calling Liberals “liberal” today, and (2) even fewer focus on how these terms impact them, since it is all part of a constant PR, branding campaign….and has been for decades.

    I’ve spent my entire adult life is Professional Sales & Management, and the Progs and Libs are as good at it as anyone’s ever been.

    Our side has to get way better, quick.

    Like

  3. tannngl says:

    First we need to stand for something! Then we need to define and explain easily what that is. (People really can get all those cell phones the conservative way!!!)

    The Republican Party seems to feel conservatives are a doddery old aunt in the family and only use us when we help them win. Time to move to the right, Party. Or maybe it’s time to start our own party.❓

    Like

  4. bullright says:

    Excellent summary. If I might add one thing I noticed about their evolving rights and their problem with us exercising ours; it is when we exercise all our first amendment rights together they become unglued. And conservatives are very good at it. But we have been toned down and marginalized, done it to ourselves and allowed it to happen. But there truly is a big difference between the right and statists.

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      Thanks for your comments, bullright.

      We have allowed ourselves to be marginalized, quieted.

      Time to make some noise. Get in discussions with the libs/progs in your life. Blog about it. Don’t be afraid! We’re right! Even they say we’re right! 😊

      Like

  5. Hi Tannngl,

    Since you mentioned this article in your recent comment to my blog, I came here to read it and comment on it.

    I like your rundown of ways in which you are conservative, and why. It’s a complicated thing, why some people’s brains work one way, and other people’s brains work another way. To me, it sums up to “realism” vs. “idealism.” Thomas Sowell’s book A Conflict of Visions is well worth a read for you, to get a full dissertation on these two ways of thinking…which he calls “constrained” (conservative) and “unconstrained” (progressive).

    Anyway, my comments are in reaction to the three definitions you quoted:

    The dictionary definition of liberal: favorable to progress or reform, as in political or religious affairs. noting or pertaining to a political party advocating measures of progressive political reform. favorable to or in accord with concepts of maximum individual freedom possible, especially as guaranteed by law and secured by governmental protection of civil liberties. favoring or permitting freedom of action, especially with respect to matters of personal belief or expression.

    This definition, and the 3rd one below, use the word reform. Interesting, because “reform” usually means to correct something that’s viewed as wrong by a majority of objective citizens. But they use “reform” to mean change away from tradition and towards always-morphing concepts of short-term gratification and personal pleasure, regardless of the long term cost & consequences. Often, these “reforms” are for the benefit of narrow special interests and do not reflect the beliefs of the majority. That’s why they do not utilize the available process of Constitutional Amendment to achieve their “reform” — because the majority of people do not want these changes. Regarding “maximum individual freedom,” as I wrote in my article America’s Political Bilingualism, their definition of freedom is “the absence of limitations that arise from real-life circumstances that would reduce a person’s range of choices.” In other words, to them freedom means unconstrained idealism. Finally I would observe that liberals’ recent overt assault on 2nd amendment rights reveals that they’re only in favor of freedom of action when it fits their emotional idealism. Otherwise, they suddenly don’t care about things that are supposed to be guaranteed by law. This proves they don’t care about consistent process…they mainly care about achieving their idealistic outcomes however they can.

    Liberalism according to Wiki is: a political ideology that advocates regulated markets, unlimited government, rule of law, due process, and redistribution of wealth of more successful individuals.

    I don’t think the author of this wiki definition understands the meaning of the phrase “rule of law.” It classically means that the law is the law, and should be objectively applied (as in “lady justice is blind”), rather than tailored and morphed to suit the feelings and emotions of a particular court case or set of litigants. Far from this objective view, liberals actually favor interpretive justice (meaning “social fairness”). In reaction to a lawyer stating repeatedly that his client sought justice before the court, Supreme Court Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. (1841-1935) once said “This is a court of law, young man, not a court of justice.”

    And progressivism [according to Wiki is]: a general political philosophy advocating or favoring social, political, and economic reform.

    Again, this word “reform” irks me. If progressives would forthrightly follow the ascribed process for amending the Constitution, I would have respect for them. But they consistently seek to subvert the Constitutional processes, because they don’t believe the Constitution should still be binding. That means they want a different country, but they want it through hijacking, not through overt political processes. Whenever progressive politicians get elected and take their oath of office, we watch their right hand raised in the air while they swear to uphold the Constitution. But we should really be looking at their left hand, because their fingers are crossed.

    Thanks for the opportunity to offer my embellishments.

    Hope you had a great Easter!
    – Jeff

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      That was an important point, Jeff, that ‘reform’ means to change something for the better.
      Well, our Constitution and Faith are Truth and need no reforming! I missed that. Those on the left, I think, do not believe we know any Truths! One reason for the line to keep being redrawn.

      Your additions are valuable!
      And I did have a wonderful Easter! Thank you!
      I appreciate your visit to the the News of the Day!

      Like

    • tannngl says:

      Oh, and Jeff, I added that search widget. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

  6. Hi, tannngl.

    I think you asked me one time about how Colorado turned from a red state to a blue state, but I can’t find that conversation on either your blog or mine. This was the best place I found to tell you that I just posted an article containing a link to a 40-minute documentary that came out a couple weeks ago called Rocky Mountain Heist. It’s a detailed explanation of how the Progressives did it, hosted by Michelle Malkin. If you’re still interested, please check it out. It’s a warning to other states to watch out for this strategy in your state. I guess Texas and Virginia are currently copying the progressive strategy. It’s like a contagion.

    It looks like we’ve got a great chance of re-taking some ground this year in Colorado. I’m pretty confident we’ll flip a Senate seat from D to R, and the governor’s race is a tie right now in the polls. Plus we’ve got a chance to take control of one of the state legislature chambers back.

    Looks like this election is on the quiet side for you, with no Senators running. I’m sorry you’re apparently going to lose your Republican governor, but at least your unopposed Congressman is safe and secure. It’s nice living in a Congressional district that’s represented by someone you voted for, huh?

    Cheers,
    – Jeff

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      I saw your comment this morning before church but haven’t had time to answer.
      I remember that conversation and asking you how Colorado turned blue. I think it was in your blog.
      At any rate the preview of this film is good. I’ll try to watch the long version tomorrow. Sounds like everyone should watch this!!!
      Dems have been working on PA this year. Loads of $$$ poured into the campaign for governor. Don’t be so sure our Tom Corbett will lose. Michelle O and Barack O have been here in Philly to get out the vote.
      We placed Republican candidate signs through out our county 3 weeks ago and the next day 90% of them were gone. Just like my anti O signs in my yard in 2012.
      Unions.
      Do.
      Great.
      Work.

      I’m hoping for bad turnout from the cities (Dems) this election. Every poll had a pretty large ‘undecided’ number.
      Praying!! He’s still in charge, even with these criminals we call the Democrat Party.

      Like

Leave a Reply

