I was going to blog on this subject but justturnright has done it so much better than I could. (as well as the comments!).
Christmas is a big part of the war on our culture in the US.

Two Heads are Better Than One

Just saw my first “War on Christmas” story for 2012, from a group called ‘Arkansas Society of Freethinkers‘ doing the annual secularist freak-out.

But as you read this, remember: the repeated refrain we hear in the media is that there IS no such ‘war’, and that it’s a contrived creation of the “Christian right” and Fox News.

From Statepress.com:

“This isn’t about Charlie Brown or Christmas, it’s about the separation of church and state,” Anne Orsi, the vice president The Arkansas Society of Freethinkers, said in her statement voicing opposition to the actions taken by the Terry Elementary School in Little Rock, Ark.

The school took students to a [stage] performance of “Merry Christmas Charlie Brown,” reinvigorating a debate between the pious and secular.

The school should not have taken the children to see this play, regardless of giving the option to attend. Not because…

View original post 846 more words

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Thought I’d leave a quick “Thank you” over at your place, too, tannngl.
    I’m honored by the re-blog, as well as the kind words.

    Just a note: of all of the posts I’ve done this year, this one took me the longest.
    Not really sure why, but it felt like I was writing ‘The Iliad’, rather than just a blog post.
    Probably just my OCD catching up to me…

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

