My mom

We brought her home yesterday. I owe all to the Lord of my life, Yeshua, his Father and the Holy Spirit.

Exactly 1 week ago I was calling for helicopter medical transport for my mom to get her to a stroke center for that magic 3 hour window to stop the deadly, crippling effects of a stroke.

 

Today she woke after sleeping like a log (she said thankfully!). She showered, dressed, made her bed and fed her cat. Then she listened to her favorite church program and waited for the physical therapist to arrive.

When I assessed mom last Wednesday, she could barely speak with very slurred speech, her left side of her face drooped and her top teeth fell out. She was unable to swallow and she was so frightened.

Her symptoms never progressed; indeed, they began to recede immediately even though she received no intervention to stop the stroke. On day 2 I arrived and her speech was clearer although she couldn’t swallow without choking on whatever she was swallowing. And she could only smile on the right side of her face. She could not pucker to kiss and her tongue could not go to the left side of her mouth. But I could SEE the improvement.

Each day she improved, though not quite as much as that first day. Now, at home, there is only a little residual of the stroke that made us so afraid she was in real trouble. Last night she came to dinner in the kitchen and ate with us; no choking.

As an RN, I have never seen such a recovery from stroke. She is going to be 93 in February. She stayed in the hospital for 6 days and is home.

I appreciate so much the prayers of so many. Most of all I am thankful to my God for allowing me to have mom with us longer. He is an awesome God. And He is so good. All the time.

…I think we’re planning a 100th birthday party for 2020.🌹

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My mom

  1. Both my wife and I lost our mothers at comparatively young ages (my 2nd son was only a few months old when she died).
    You are blessed beyond words to still have your mom, as you’re obviously aware.

    My prayers to you both: a 100th birthday party would be wonderful event!! More importantly, I hope you truly get to enjoy each other for many years to come.

    God Bless…

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      JRT, thank you very much for your comment. It’s very hard to lose a parent, especially mom, I think. So sorry your moms went to be with the Lord so young. But can you imagine the joy they experience now?
      God bless you and your wife.
      Numbers 6:24-26

      Like

  2. cosmoscon says:

    That is fantastic news and I’m glad to hear you mom had a miraculous recovery. The Christmas seasons will be even better for you now. All the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

