My time is in your hands

“At that point some of the people of Jerusalem began to ask, “Isn’t this the man they are trying to kill? Here he is, speaking publicly, and they are not saying a word to him. Have the authorities really concluded that he is the Christ? But we know where this man is from; when the Christ comes, no one will know where he is from.”   Then Jesus, still teaching in the temple courts, cried out, “Yes, you know me, and you know where I am from. I am not here on my own, but he who sent me is true. You do not know him, but I know him because I am from him and he sent me.”

 

At this they tried to seize him, but no one laid a hand on him, because his time had not yet come.”

(John 7:25–30 NIV)

 

Some of the Jewish people in the crowd believed Jesus and believed in him. Others did not. But the Jewish religious teachers were fully blinded. They believed Jesus to be a heretic, saying he knew God and was from God.

The crowd said they knew where Jesus was from but that when the Christ comes no one will know where he’s from. Blinded.

However, the many OT predictions of Messiah said he would be from the line of David, from Bethlehem, from Judah amongst the Jews themselves.

 

A great site: http://www.hebrew4christians.com/Names_of_G-d/Messiah/messiah.html 

Hebrew4Christians gives so much insight into the Hebrew words of scripture and really dives deeper into God’s Words. We are so blessed to have this ministry and others like it today.

This particular study that I linked is about the Messiah in the Old Testament. You might like to take the time to read this. I always find John’s work of great interest.

 

How does all of this apply to my daily reading?

First I am so thankful that I am not so blind. God has opened my eyes to his Son and saving grace. And I have chosen to follow him.

 

Second, as Jesus again, knew his time had not come, God the Father was in charge. Whatever happened, God allowed. In this life, if we are disciples of Jesus, it may seem that there is no one in control of our lives. But in fact the opposite is true. The Lord God Almighty is in control of everything: every hardship we encounter, ever conversation we have, every place and person we meet, every blessing we receive.

 

Third, as the blinded ones, the Jewish teachers in this case, believe Jesus to be wrong, heretic; they hate him. He is usurping their power and authority. I meet with this behavior each day. It’s part of what I share with my Savior.

 

So I know I am in the center of his will as I remain close, reading, praying, obeying and some persecution will continue to come my way. I think they are all the ways that show me I am His.

Father, thank you for your faithfulness, for guiding my steps, for your love. Help me to remember you throughout my day. And please make your characteristics my character. Your Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and Self Control. Amen.

Your Tannngl

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in Daily with Him. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My time is in your hands

  1. Pingback: The name of the Lord | daily meditation

  2. OK, this one I can relate to right away.
    Pray for enlightenment, trust, humility, guidance, and the ability to remain ever thankful.

    God knows: I need help in ALL of them…
    😉

    Like

  3. Pingback: The name of the Lord « The Road

Leave a Reply

