“…he is not a monster. He is human like I am. I, too, could be capable of this evil.”

I read Being the Body by Charles Colson 17 years ago when I returned to my faith. In it he recounted a story about a Jewish man who had waited and waited for the arrest and prosecution of a holocaust criminal. The Jewish man attended the trial and while watching, he began to cry inconsolably. He was asked afterwards, why he was crying. The Jewish man said, “I came here to see this monster receive his punishment for his crimes. When I saw him, I realized he is not a monster. He is human like I am. I, too, could be capable of this evil.”
I think it helps me understand Romans 1:21-32.
This blog post is very important.
~Tannngl

The Peanut Gallery

Peanut Gallery: Today’s reading from Luke 3 on the “Temptation of Jesus,” reminded me of this post by John Hawkins. The temptation to cross moral boundaries lies at the heart of our very human struggle with sin. Hawkins’ article gives us some stop signs to watch out for.
________________________________________

5 Moral Boundaries You Do Not Want To Cross by John Hawkins (December 9, 2012)  (click here for original article posted in pjmedia.com)

“Man is the cruelest animal.” — Friedrich Nietzsche

“To understand evil, we must set aside the comfortable belief that we would never do anything wrong. Instead, we must begin to ask ourselves, what would it take for me to do such things? Assume that it would be possible.” — Roy Baumeister

Many people consider monsters like Adolf Hitler and Joseph Stalin somehow uniquely evil. They imagine them as malevolent, abominable, nearly inhuman entities who spent their days…

View original post 969 more words

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “…he is not a monster. He is human like I am. I, too, could be capable of this evil.”

  1. Wow….a pretty tough post, tannngl!

    I’ll have to re-read this one again tonight…and possibly discuss with Mrs. TurnRight.
    Thanks for re-blogging it from Art…

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      It’s a hard truth, JTR. Many can’t accept it. I appreciate your visits and encouraging comments.

      Like

      • It’s my pleasure. Sometimes my schedule interferes with coming around every day (that work thing really is a pain sometimes), but you’re always on my must read list.

        Thanks for the sincere effort and thought you put into your posts.

        Like

Leave a Reply

