Is it true? Can it be that we are all evil?

When I had returned to my faith 17 years ago, I was very interested in the purpose and the ‘how’ to be part of the Body of Christ.

I picked up a book to read: Being the Body by Chuck Colson. It was a page turner for me at that time. His information was important for me then. And now! Here’s a little description of this book by the Colson Center Store on the net. It rings true and so appropriate for today:

In this new, revised and expanded edition of The Body, Charles Colson revisits the question, “What is the church and what is its relevance to contemporary culture at large?” Provocative and insightful, Being the Body inspires us to rise above a stunted “Jesus and me” faith to a nobler view of something bigger and grander than ourselves–the glorious, holy vision for which God created the church.

But back to “can it be that we are all evil?”

In this book Colson described an event in the life of a Jewish man who had lost everything including his wife and children in the Holocaust. The Jewish man was so glad when they had caught and were going to try this German for the deaths he caused in the Holocaust. The Jewish man paid his fare and traveled to Nuremberg; he would not miss this trial. He wanted to see the face of this monster.

He sat there during the trial and started to cry. He sobbed and sobbed. After the trial and the German was condemned to death, a reporter asked the Jewish man why he cried. Through tears the man said, “I thought I was coming to look at the face of a monster. I looked at him. I now realize that could have been me on trial. I could have bent to that evil as well as he.”

A profound realization.

 

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in Daily with Him. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

