Easter Monday

Didn’t we used to have ‘Easter Monday’? Seems to me it was the work holiday for Easter. I don’t know; perhaps I dreamed it. Funny how our perception of the past gets colored with little inaccuracies sometimes.

On Easter at my daughter’s house, the 2 grand daughters asked to come home with us to stay overnight. They wanted to brush the horses, helping to get the winter coat off and just clean them up generally, spending some bonding time with the girls. (Both horses are girls).

The oldest is 17 and the youngest is 12. It’s kind of amazing that the 17-year-old still wants to come for sleep overs. As I remember, at that age, I was off with my friends, working, getting ready for nursing school. But I’m very proud of my grand children. They still love me and their Bepaw. And they are the light of our lives!

Also, that evening at 8, my brother-in-law and his wife were stopping to see us after about 9 years absence.They were on their way to Williamsburg and wanted to stop since we had not seen them for so long. I had cleaned and gotten a desert for the occasion. We needed to get home to be ready for their visit so we left my daughter’s house at about 7:30PM. We got home in time to see them knocking on the door. So much for getting things together before they arrived.
The visit was great. We caught up on our kids and grand kids and each other; they got to see our 2 grand daughters but the youngest did not remember them.

After they left, I had to do a quick vacuum and dusting of the girls’ rooms. I don’t clean there every week since the rooms don’t get used all of the time. This house is huge and I’m not the best house keeper. Though I do keep it from going to pot as old as I am!

We all got to bed late. My husband had to get up for work Monday. He left in the morning and the girls got up early! They usually sleep in. So we made ‘pampakes’. This is the term my grand son as a toddler used for my blueberry, cinnamon pancakes that they all loved. (Boys seem to have trouble learning to talk more than girls and he had several special word pronunciations that were endearing.) The baby (12) and I made the pampakes. I called my mom and we all had a hearty breakfast.

I took the dogs out for their exercise and fed the horses, giving the one with Cushing’s disease her medicine. The girls took the halters and lead ropes I got out for them and haltered their first victim and tied her to the post, getting started on currying. I left them to their work.

A couple of hours later, they came in covered with mud. It seems they chose the only post with the muddy area to work on Eden. So, I threw blue jeans and jackets into the wash. Gave them rags and scrub brushes to clean up their boots.

I helped the youngest with her homework while the oldest watched some TV, texting with her friends.

We grilled some hamburgers on the grill and called my mom for lunch. Mmmm! They were good. I worked on the laundry and dishes and got dinner in the oven. Checking on the girls in the living room, they were napping! So I hit the lazy boy, put my legs up and in moments was gone. What a lovely nap! I woke to the girls chatting; I was refreshed and ready to go. Got the phone call that hubby was on his way home. Went to put finishing touches on the evening meal and the girls got their clean jeans, shirts, jackets and boots on and went back out to work on the other horse. After my comment about choosing the only muddy area earlier to work on the horse, they chose a dry area. There was white horse hair everywhere.

It was great to have the horses cleaned up and spend time with my girls.

Dinner was ready when hubby arrived and mom, the girls and we had a lovely dinner. I made home-made whipped cream and we had pineapple upside down cake with the whipped cream for dessert. My daughter arrived to take the girls home and after chatting a bit, they left.

I am so blessed!

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Easter Monday

  1. Truckinwife says:

    The whole weekend sounds like a blessed time for all.

    Like

  2. It’s not WHAT you do, but WHY (and with WHOM) you do it.

    And yes, it certainly sounds like you are indeed blessed…and more importantly, wise enough to realize it.
    🙂

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      Thanks JTR, for the visit and your kind comments. I sure appreciate you and your sister.

      Like

      • The feeling is more mutual than I can say, my friend!
        No matter how many folks we have visit, neither of us lose sight of the very small core of readers/friends for whom we are really writing.

        You, and a handful of others, …and that’s it.
        We’re honored and blessed to have met you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

