What is the origin of morality?

I have always been in awe of genius status, particularly in physics. Einstein, and now, Hawking. Both are atheists; which is not to say that all genius physicists are atheists! But these two are. I have a brother-in-law whose father met Einstein in person. Neat.

Stephen Hawking gave a lecture April 13 in the UK and there were long lines to get in to hear him. I read a synopsis of his talk at the Huffington Post site:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/04/17/stephen-hawking-big-bang-god_n_3103009.html

and I made a few notes as I read. A few things struck me.

All humans are emotional. So are genius physicists. Hawking made a few comments about religion. It’s reasonable since our belief in creation differs from his belief in matter becoming organized on its own. According to the article Dr. Hawking spoke of religion here:

“He noted that many people still seek a divine solution to counter the theories of curious physicists, and at one point, he quipped, ‘What was God doing before  the divine creation? Was he preparing hell for people who asked such questions?’”

Now, scientists who are objective in their work know what objectivity is. Objectivity is certainly not emotional or based on feelings. But in this statement by Dr. Hawking, I see and feel a denigration of God. True, he feels superior to those of Faith. But, like most atheists, it seems he is quite bothered by God and those of the Faith. If it didn’t bother him, he wouldn’t have mocked God. Additionally it seems he has thoughts of ‘hell’ and possibly going there some day. He’s saying God prepared hell for people like himself. I would expect more of this man who is a one who works with  a required objectivity in his chosen profession.

I guess I could be wrong, but in working in psychiatry for over 7 years, the symptoms of what’s going on in a person’s mind are his behavior. Language is a behavior.

I’ve asked atheists I know where they think morality originates. They think it’s inherent in our beings. They also believe we have ‘evolved’ to the very best human beings since, say, Bible times or any time in our history. I’ll say here that this is wrong. We are involved in the same immoralities that people from the beginning have been involved in. Sexual immorality, murder, thievery, lies, slander, hatred, addiction, greed, they all existed thousands of years ago in humanity and it still exists today…in all of us. We don’t all do all of these things but left to our own human devices, I believe we would.

So where does morality originate?

Saw a video this morning that seems to have the answer. It’s not long, 5 minutes and 36 seconds. But he does a very good job dispelling the idea that morality is inherent in all of us.

Watch it and comment if you like. I would love hearing any thoughts on it.

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in Daily with Him. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

