A year has passed!

A year has passed since I last reported on a wedding anniversary.

A year has passed since I last posted about a weekend with my baby

French wines are usually made to accompany food.

French wines are usually made to accompany food. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

grand-daughter. (She’s really not a baby. She’s 12 1/2.)

First, the wedding anniversary. We found a lovely winery close by. It’s new and their grand opening was the day we were celebrating our anniversary. So we planned to break up the day (since my mom would be at home alone) and go out for a few hours in the afternoon-the winery. We would come home and get dinner for mom, sitting with her while she eats. Then we would get ready to go out for a nice meal. It was a great plan!

The winery was just lovely. Very country. Wine tasting. Some food. Great stone patio with tables and chairs under the trees, a band. We each got a glass of wine and just sat there and talked. Several people we knew came over and talked. When we were ready to leave, we tasted some wine and purchased a few bottles. Mom loves chicken wings so we bought her an order and took them home to her for dinner! I didn’t have to cook! She really enjoyed those wings! Then we were off to dinner. I splurged and had my favorite: a large lobster tail with vegetables, a salad and my anniversary drink, a brandy Alexander. We had a great time, just talking and eating. It was anniversary number 46. That is so hard to believe…

Back to my grand-daughter…

I got a call on Thursday from her. She wanted to come out and stay the night Friday and help finish getting the pool ready. (She really loves to swim). I told her the motor for the pump had quit and the water would not be healthy without the pump and filter. She asked if there were other things to get ready for the pool? And, yes, there were. The white plastic pool chairs and tables needed cleaned with bleach and soap and rinsed and put in place on the pool deck. She said she still wanted to come and help…

So her mom brought her out after her last half day of school. We had a wonderful weekend!

She told me that all her friends were staying over night with each other. She told them she was going to her grand parents’ house to stay! Now isn’t that something?! She could have made plans to go home with a friend; she has plenty of them. But she chose to come to our house to help get the pool ready though she could not swim this weekend. We always play a game or two and cook together. It’s fun doing things that each child prefers and enjoys.

I find it a wonderful thing when your grand kids actually want and choose to come to spend time with you! They are all just great kids who are turning into wonderfully responsible smart moral adults.

Thank you, God.

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

