Well, which is it? Is Snowden a traitor or a patriot?

Edward Snowden

Edward Snowden

I have read and heard people I admire and trust in media judge Edward Snowden as a traitor. I’m not talking about Speaker Boehner who called the man a traitor today. I don’t have very much admiration for our House Speaker.

Two of the people on the morning show, Fox and Friends, believe Mr. Snowden should never have released this information. They believe he’s a traitor. There have been several other conservative commentators that judge him a traitor also.

Of course, the left wing of America is happy with the vast collection of private data on Americans (as long as it’s not Bush doing it). They call Mr Snowden a traitor.

But Tea Party proponents, constitutional attorneys, many conservatives believe that though Mr. Snowden went against the promises he swore before he started work for the CIA and did commit a crime, he is still a patriot, a whistle blower. The information he has revealed has opened the eyes of Americans to the massive crime of our federal government. The law is stated here:

Amendment IV
The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

I am heartened that Mr. Snowden released this information.

At the time of President Bush’s term, after 9/11, I didn’t see any problem with the law that was passed to protect us from further terror attacks. Emotion was high. We went to war. Muslim organizations that were supporting terror were found and removed from IRS charity rolls. It all felt right.

But now this administration has stepped on my religious rights, put pressure on my faith to ‘shut up’, made Christians, conservatives the focus of IRS’s persecution and our president refuses to call terrorism a Muslim extremism end product. I see that this kind of spying on me and my fellow citizens is a lawlessness and I want it to stop.

It is important who is doing the data collection, or is it? NO ONE has the right to collect this data and use it against us. The Founding Fathers had  great wisdom in setting down our foundation of law in The Constitution and Declaration of Independence. When we allowed the federal government to step on these laws we allowed a geometric increase in federal power and the growth of a tyrannous federal government.

I believe we stand in great danger right now and not by terrorists.

By our own government.

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Well, which is it? Is Snowden a traitor or a patriot?

  1. TeachX3 says:

    I hear ya. What’s that saying… “one mans freedom fighter is another mans terrorist” ?

    Here is my take: the federal government WORKS FOR THE AMERICAN PEOPLE, they are appointed representatives. IF this guy had released secrets to another government, well, I would consider that treason, but he did not, he released secrets to the boss of this government. To me, that is like an employee letting a boss know that a fellow employee was breaking the business rules… this guy let We the People know that the government we elected is breaking the Constitutions laws. Not a hero, not a criminal… just the man who opened the curtain.

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      ‘ One Man’s Terrorist Another Man’s Freedom Fighter?’
      From a book written in 1975. I had to look it up. Hadn’t ever heard it though it makes sense.

      I sooooo agree with you TeachX3! These people are making laws to ‘protect’ us and they are taking away our freedoms with every law they pass.

      I say God bless Edward Snowden. May he be kept safe where ever he is.

      Thanks for the visit! I haven’t been here as much. I guess because of summer. 😎

      Like

      • TeachX3 says:

        I had no clue it was from a book LOL but I have been hearing the phrase more and more… *sigh* and IMO the only reason these people are making laws to ‘protect’ us, is for the power they get in return. It’s the story of mankind from the beginning, power corrupts. It’s a sad, sad world we live in, thank goodness it is only our temporary home!! 😉

        Enjoy your summer girl… God bless you and yours!

        Like

  2. I agree with Teach. Yes, he broke the rules and should be fired, but he did an ethical thing, he informed the boss (we the people) that our employees (the government) are not acting in our best interests. He did the right thing. We the people should throw him a parade and plan for his repatriation as soon as we throw the current administration into jail for rifling through our collective underwear drawer.

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      It’s kind of an oxymoron? He did a treasonous deed but we feel it was ethically correct.
      I would like to know just what information was given that caused our enemies to know what we are doing to fight them? I think they already knew they could intercept phone calls and electronic communications, were watching facebook and twitter. So what could this possibly have told them that they didn’t know?

      Evidently we aren’t even fighting Muslim terrorists. Nor do we seem to be stopping terror in our own country. I think if we had, our president would be on it in less than a second with “I did that!”

      Like

      • TeachX3 says:

        Been doing a lot of research tonight… if you want to go even deeper into the rabbit hole, look deeper into The Falcon and The Snowman (which happens to be one of my favorite movies based on a true story, but I’m talking about the actual events from the 70’s), the Wikileaks guy (name escapes me right now) and now this Snowden guy… I’m sure there are many more, but those are the ones I was reading about tonight. It is a fine line between right and wrong… if one is acting upon their moral convictions, and it happens to reveal corruption within our own government, does that make that person automatically wrong? Why are we (as a people) so quick to ‘grab a fall guy and persecute them’ but we deny the larger evil, the corruption that they have exposed? MAN my head is full of info and it is swimming around to the point of dizziness! I have always been a very patriotic American gal… but being a patriot is more than red, white and blue, the flag, loyalty, etc… IMO, all of that is nothing but noise if we do not uphold the Constitution.

        Like

      • tannngl says:

        Wow! I hope you get some sleep! I’ll have to look up The Falcon and the Snowman. I was focussed on nursing and medicine in the 70’s. I never read other than medical, hospital and nursing journals.
        Julian Assange was the wikileak person with Manning, whom we are taking to trial. I never understood the ideology of Assange or Manning
        I’ve heard reports now that perhaps Snowden will share information with China…Now that made me want to rethink what I think about him. But the whole story is not out. And I am still glad he leaked this information.
        Oh, there are also reports of terrorists who say they now know where the US listens and will change their communications tools. I still say this was horribly, criminally inappropriate; they were only collecting infor on US CITIZENS for gosh sakes. Why not international communications?
        Or maybe they were…
        Will we ever know?
        I’m still glad he did this.

        Like

  3. Reblogged this on aurorawatcherak and commented:
    I have a similar experience, though I started to feel a little queasy about the Patriot Act during Bush’s second term. I began to realize that it wasn’t going to go away when he stepped down and there was no reason to believe that whoever became head of the Executive Branch would not start using it on the American people, if Bush hadn’t already started to. The more I read on the administrative state, the more I wonder if our elected officials actually started this or if it was all proposed by the administrators who are now the ones advancing its use. The fourth branch, the unelected shadow government, is a lot bigger and far-reaching than most of us care to admit. Thank goodness one of them decided to do the right thing. I don’t know that he’s a hero,and under current law he is a criminal, but snowden is what an American citizen is supposed to be — one who does the right thing because it is the right thing.

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      Hey, Aurorawatcherak, thanks for the reblog! And thanks for visiting and commenting as well. Bet we’re not the only ones who began feeling uncomfortable with that Patriot Act, which was supposed to allow surveillance for terrorist suspects. This has grown so broad as to apply to all citizens! I believe congress may have known what was going on, at least those on the Senate Judiciary Committee. They are acting a bit like they knew but are not admitting it. Or I have become too suspicious.

      Like

      • I’m sure many of them didn’t know specifically that this was happening, but they knew in a general way that we could do it and that says they were derelict in their duty to represent us.

        And, really, I knew 6 or 7 years ago about the software program that would eventually allow this. I learned about from a retired Army major who was counter-intelligence, who assured me that it would never be used against American citizens without a warrant because that would be unconstitutional. Given the source, I began to suspect immediately that it was being used against American citizens. I just didn’t think it would be all American citizens.

        Like

      • tannngl says:

        You sure have a trove of information in that brain of yours!
        This kind of technology has been let out of Pandora’s box. What’s the chances that it can ever be stopped? 😱

        Like

      • What are the chances that an EMP is going to take out the United States electronic infrastructure? As long as this technology is available, it will be used. I seriously doubt that even “private” information that is stored on the cloud is not being monitored and somehow used. Not that I relish the thought of being slapped back into the 1880s, but I think it would take an event of that magnitude to make us reconsider what we’re doing currently.

        Like

  4. Pingback: Open Letter to John Boehner | The Ugly "Truth" Site

  5. Truckinwife says:

    This will be eye opening on what the results of Snowden and his speaking out will be. The founding fathers if they were to have known that this would have happened would be in tears at this time. It isn’t about Snowden in the end of it all. But it is about the releasing of this information to government spies. Hero or not remains to be seen but I feel he did what was needed to wake up America. Now I pray the people will listen to the alarm clock.

    There is no reason for the government to have done this, and no reason that the people we have elected to let this sort of thing go on. It for me has made it come to the point that what I thought was the good guys are not what I now believe are the good guys. Which is a sad statement indeed.

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      I will opine that our congress also isn’t working for us. They should be virulently watching the executive branch for this kind of activity. IF they didn’t know, they were still complacent by not doing their job.
      I’ve recently read a quote by Benjamin Franklin if I can remember it. It was really about arms but makes sense here too. “Never trust a government that doesn’t trust it’s citizens with guns.” Just leave out the words ‘with guns’.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Well, which is it? Is Snowden a traitor or a patriot? | Home Grown News Media

  7. the1960texan says:

    In My book He is a hero.I hope He dos not become the1st in a new line of myaters.

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      Hi 1960texan! Thanks for the visit! And for your comment.
      I tend to feel as you do. And I pray for his safety.
      Just feel uneasy about the reports of him talking to China.

      Like

  8. Pete says:

    I am just curious how a high school drop out can end up having a job that the press reports to be worth six figures? Also can someone with his background hold such a high security clearance? I was in the military and getting a clearance above top secret was extremely difficult and with his background… Something about the story is just not right.

    Like

    • tannngl (@tannngl) says:

      Hi Pete. I’m so sorry I didn’t reply sooner. Thanks so much for taking the time to visit and read here, and to comment!
      I sure don’t understand that either. I know security clearance when my husband was in the Air Force was difficult to get. There were FBI checks and interviews of neighbors…

      Times are sure different now. He worked for a contractor so I wonder how tight controls are in such situations. Might be looser, I don’t know.

      I just know I am not happy with the general status of much today.
      Be blessed, Pete.

      Like

Leave a Reply

