The Beans are Ready!

They were ready Monday. And boy! there’s a bumper crop this year!

So we began to pick, snap, and process the beans in jars.

Canning. It’s a seasonal tradition in my family. I helped mom and dad on our farm at home. When I retired from hospitals, I began a vegetable garden and started to can my produce.

It’s been a family event. Some years, like the year my daddy died, the whole family came here and helped. We finished in one day. Other years like this year, it’s mostly just me. But I can’t minimize my mom’s help. She’s always fatigued. But when I started beans on Monday, she was out here at 9 AM and ready to snap them. She worked for 2 hours! After today and with her help again, we have 21 quarts of beans canned and 2 huge bags of green beans in the freezer. But we’re only 1/3 done.

The beans this year are beautiful without blemish and so plentiful!

I think it may be the high CO2 in the air.

garfield-f12-33

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Beans are Ready!

  1. I remember well as a child helping my mom snap beans and husk corn by the bushel getting g ready to can and freeze fresh produce. I also remember her walking around the house humming a tune and counting as those ol Mason jars popped their tops. LOL. Thanks fer bringing that memory to mind.

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      It’s a great memory! And it’s great to continue the memory! Mom has cancer and is very fatigued. But she was bound and determined to help snap the beans. She has always tried to ‘pull her own weight’ the 5 years she has lived with us. And I’ve got some great videos of her doing these things.
      Thanks for the visit, pastor. And for the comment. So glad this brought back good memories for you.

      Like

  2. sally1137 says:

    Do you pressure can them? I haven’t tried pressure canning…it’s on my list. I’m waiting for the tomatoes to get going so Mom and I can can some. 🙂

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      Mom used to use the boiling water canner for beans. Today the wisdom is pressure canning. Beans are too low in acid and require the higher heat you get under pressure. Whereas tomatoes are high in acid and can be canned in a boilinb water canner.
      I read the Ball Blue book on canning, freezing and dehydrating.
      What do you do with tomatoes, Sally? I’m usually so inundated with tomatoes I puree them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

