We All Scream for Ice Cream!

“This Book contains the mind of God, the state of man, the way of salvation, the doom of sinners and the happiness of believers. Its doctrines are holy, its precepts are binding, its histories are true, and its decisions are immutable. Read it to be wise, believe it to be safe, and practice it to be holy. It contains light to direct you, food to support you, and comfort to cheer you. It is the traveler’s map, the pilgrim’s staff, the pilot’s compass, the soldier’s sword, and the Christian’s character. Here paradise is restored, Heaven opened, and the gates of hell disclosed. Christ is its grand object; our good is its design, and the glory of God its end. It should fill the memory, rule the heart, and guide the feet. Read it slowly, frequently, and prayerfully.” –Anonymous

Broken Believers ♥

ice-cream3

Sometimes, God’s Word is like an ice cream parlor. It has 66 flavors (books) and selecting a scoop is really hard. Should I have Psalms, or Matthew? What about special toppings? Of course, Revelation can be an acquired taste– but a scoop is truly heavenly.

Maybe I’ll get crazy, and have a double scoop; possibly Ecclesiastes and James, with sprinkles– but on a waffle cone? I don’t think so.  Ah decisions, decisions– what’s a guy to do? Sometimes the person behind the counter will cheerfully give you a taste test. (But after giving you several samples, they seem to catch on.) 🙂

Now I know the Bible is really far more than an ice cream shop. Jesus once said, “My words are Spirit and Life.” What more can you say to that?

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make…

View original post 432 more words

About tannngl

Believer (God the Father, the Son and Messiah, the Holy Spirit), daughter, wife, mother, memaw, RN, hobbit, street evangelist I love people, music, reading, praying, studying the Bible, keeping up with national news and politics. I am a strict constructionist, a true American. I love my country. I honor her warriors. I am thankful for our Constitution and will personally bear arms for it.
This entry was posted in News of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We All Scream for Ice Cream!

  1. Nicely written….I try to follow a “plan” as I read through the Bible but sometimes God directs me “outside the box” of narrow minded human plans. 🙂

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      Pastor Bryan Lowe has a great grasp on scripture. His insights sometimes amaze me.
      I, too, have usually read through the Bible. Genesis to Revelation and I’ve read through 3 times. I also go off the plan sometimes, many times! God has sent me on a word study at times. (I love words, Hebrew, Greek, English). He is my teacher.
      Thanks, pastor, for your visit, comment!

      Like

  2. TeachX3 says:

    Awesome quote by ‘anonymous’! Gonna use that! 😀

    Like

    • tannngl says:

      I liked it too! Pastor Bryan always has a great blog.
      Thanks for reading, Teach!

      Like

      • TeachX3 says:

        I searched it out… there are even longer versions of it, and all versions say “anonymous” or “author unknown”. There was one site that gave credit saying it was found in an old Bible. Neat… just lovely! 🙂 Happy day tannngl!

        Like

Leave a Reply

